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INFORMATION FOR WELL PERMITS APPROVED PURSUANT TO CRS 37-90-137(2) 

 Carefully read the conditions of approval on your well permit.  The conditions and the information on 

this information sheet must be complied with in order for the permit to remain valid. 

THE ISSUANCE OF THIS PERMIT DOES NOT CONFER A WATER RIGHT  

The well permit number is located in the upper right corner of the permit, and the expiration date is 

located in the lower right corner. 

THE WELL PERMIT EXPIRATION DATE IS ONE YEAR FROM THE DATE ISSUED.  Evidence of well 

construction and pump installation must be received on appropriate forms PRIOR TO THE EXPIRATION 

DATE OF THE PERMIT.  The required forms are the Well Construction and Test Report (Form No. GWS-31), 
and the Pump Installation and Test Report (Form No. GWS-32).  There are penalties if evidence of well 
construction and pump installation is not received prior to the expiration date.  The licensed contractor or well 
owner (under the private driller or pump installer statutes and rules) performing the work is responsible for 
completing the appropriate form(s) and submitting them to the Division of Water Resources.  

The expiration date of the permit may be extended one time only for a period not to exceed one year for 
good cause shown, at the discretion of the State Engineer.  If an extension of time is necessary to construct the 
well and/or install pumping equipment, the owner must file a written request for the extension, along with a $60 
filing fee.  The request and fee must be received by the State Engineer prior to the expiration date.  The request 
must state why the well has not been constructed and/or pumping equipment installed, and must include an 
estimate of time required to construct the well and/or install pumping equipment. 

Water well construction and pump installation contractors are licensed in Colorado to perform these 

specialized tasks.  It is illegal for individuals who do not hold these licenses to construct wells and 

install pumping equipment in or on wells.  The well must be constructed and pumping equipment 

installed by contractors with current license(s) issued by the State of Colorado unless exempted as 
described on the reverse side. Additional information regarding well construction, pump installation, required 
testing and well plugging and sealing regulations are found on the reverse side of this sheet. 

Keep a copy of this permit for your records.  The official digital image of the permit is on file in the Denver office 
Records Section.  You may view or print the entire permit file using our online well permit search tool: 
http://www.dwr.state.co.us/WellPermitSearch/  Hard copies of permit documents may be obtained from our 
Records Section for a fee of 50 cents per page.  Statutes require that any change of mailing address or 
ownership be reported to the State Engineer.  Form number GWS-11 is used both by new owners to report 
ownership changes and current owners to report address changes. 

If you have questions, contact the Ground Water Information Desk at (303) 866-3587, or the Division Office in the 
area where your well is located. 
 

Division 1 
810 9

th
 St., Ste. 200 

Greeley, CO 80631 
(970) 352-8712 
Fax: (970) 392-1816 

Division 2 
310 E. Abriendo Ave Ste B 
Pueblo, CO 81004 
(719) 542-3368 
Fax: (719) 544-0800 

Division 3 
301 Murphy Drive 
Alamosa, CO 81101 
(719) 589-6683 
Fax: (719) 589-6685 

Division 4 
2730 Commercial Way (physical) 
Montrose, CO 81401 
P.O. Box 456 Zip 81402 (mailing) 
(970) 249-6622 
Fax: (970) 249-8728 

Division 5 
202 Center Drive (physical) 
Glenwood Spgs., CO 81601 
P.O. Box 396 Zip 81602 
(mailing) 
(970) 945-5665 
Fax: (970) 945-8741 Call First 

Division 6 
505 Anglers Dr. Suite 101 (physical) 
Steamboat Spgs, CO 80487 
P.O. Box 773450 Zip 80477 
(mailing) 
(970) 879-0272 
Fax: (970) 879-1070 

Division 7 
160 Rockpoint Dr Ste E 
Durango, CO 81301 
(970) 247-1845 
Fax: (970) 259-0944 

Denver Office 
1313 Sherman St., Ste 821 
Denver, CO 80203 
(303) 866-3581 
No Fax 

http://www.dwr.state.co.us/WellPermitSearch/


 
WELL CONSTRUCTION AND PUMP INSTALLATION BY THE WELL OWNER 

 

You may construct the well and/or install pumping equipment yourself if the well is for your own use, is on 
property you own, and is constructed or pumping equipment is installed with equipment owned and 
operated by you.  It is your responsibility to complete and submit the Well Construction and Test Report 
(Form No. GWS-31) and/or the Pump Installation and Test Report (Form No. GWS-32).  These forms are 
available from our website at the following link: 
http://water.state.co.us/DWRDocs/Forms/Pages/WellPermittingFormsByNumber.aspx, or from any 
Division of Water Resources office.  The well must be constructed and the pumping equipment installed in 
accordance with the well construction standards of the Board. 

The WATER WELL CONSTRUCTION RULES and BOARD OF EXAMINERS RULES can be obtained 
from our website at the following link: http://water.state.co.us/groundwater/BOE/Pages/BOERules.aspx, or 
purchased from any Division of Water Resources office for a small fee.  These Rules cover the minimum 
requirements for well construction, pump installation, disinfection, plugging and sealing and contractor 
licensing regulations.  If you are constructing your own well or installing pumping equipment, it is 
recommended that you obtain a copy of these Rules for reference. 

The well construction and pump installation reports including testing of well yields and pumping systems 
must be submitted to the office of the State Engineer by the respective contractors within sixty (60) days of 
completion of the work or prior to the expiration date of the permit, whichever is earlier.  Your contractor(s) 
must provide you with a copy of the work report(s) filed with the State Engineer. 

RULE 12   WELL TESTING 

12.1 General - The provisions of this rule establish minimum standards for the testing of water wells.  
Every well constructed for the purpose of producing ground water shall be tested to determine: 
 a. a stabilized yield for the well; and 
 b. the production rate of the equipment installed when the well is placed into service. 

12.2 Well Yield Test - The yield of a well shall be determined as a stabilized production rate where the 
withdrawal rate and the drawdown do not change by more than 10 % during the last hour of the test.  The 
test shall demonstrate that either: 

  a. the well is capable of producing the permitted pumping rate for the well; or 
   b. that the maximum yield of the well is less than the permitted production rate. 

12.3 Responsibility for Well Yield Test - Well construction contractors are responsible for 
performing the well yield test and submitting the test data to the State Engineer.  If the construction 
contractor also installs the production equipment, the well yield test may be combined with the production 
equipment test, provided that the test meets the requirements of Rule 12.2.  The construction contractor 
may forgo the well yield test if he can show that a licensed pump installer will perform the well yield test 
with the permanent production equipment within thirty (30) days of completion of construction of the well.  If 
the pump installation contractor performs the well yield test, he/she shall submit the test information on the 
Pump Installation and Test Report.   

12.4 Production Equipment Test - The production equipment installed in wells shall be tested to 
ensure it is functioning as designed.  The test shall demonstrate the production capacity of the equipment 
as actually installed in the well.  It is the responsibility of the person installing the pumping system to ensure 
that the production from the well complies with the conditions of the permit. 

12.5 Responsibility for Production Equipment Test - Pump installation contractors are responsible 
for testing the production equipment installed in a well upon completion of their work.  If the well 
construction contractor determined the well yield and submitted a report, the pump installer need not 
perform another well yield test.  If the pump installer does not perform a well yield test with the permanent 
production equipment, he shall perform a production equipment test and report the data (results) to the 
State Engineer on the Pump Installation and Test Report. 

Wells to be plugged and sealed must be plugged in accordance with of the Water Well 
Construction Rules.  A Well Abandonment Report, Form No. GWS-9 must be submitted to confirm 
plugging and sealing of the well.  This form is available from our website at the following link: 
http://water.state.co.us/DWRDocs/Forms/Pages/WellPermittingFormsByNumber.aspx, or from any 
Division of Water Resources office.  The specific rules for plugging and sealing wells are found on the 
reverse side of the Well Abandonment Report form, or under Rule 16 of the Water Well Construction 
Rules. 
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