Skip navigation links
Ground Water
Surface Water
Data & Maps
Documents & Forms
Division Offices
Skip navigation links
Irrigation Subcommittee 

The purpose of the Irrigation Subcommittee is to establish criteria for the beginning and end of the Division 3 irrigation season for all irrigation water rights pursuant the General Assembly’s mandate, set forth in S.B. 04-222, that the State Engineer create Rules & Regulations for Division 3 governing the use of underground water.

The Division 3 Engineer of the Colorado Division of Water Resources has announced that the irrigation season will begin on April 1, 2020 for surface and groundwater irrigation structures within the following areas:

Rio Grande area (Water District 20),
Alamosa River area (Water District 21),
Conejos River area (Water District 22),
Culebra Creek area (Water District 24),
San Luis Creek area (Water District 25), 
Saguache Creek area (Water District 26),
La Garita and Carnero Creek areas (Water District 27).

Therefore, as of April 1, the irrigation season will be open for all areas of the San Luis Valley.  This announcement is to comply with the State Engineer’s Rules and Regulations regarding the setting of an irrigation season in Division 3. 

If you have any questions, please contact the Division of Water Resources at 719-589-6683.


Irrigation Subcommittee documents and comments are now filed with Rulemaking Documents for Rio Grande Groundwater Withdrawal Rules, Effective 9/23/2015