Skip navigation links
Ground Water
Surface Water
Data & Maps
Documents & Forms
Division Offices
Skip navigation links
Designated Basins and Ground Water Management Districts 
DWR > Ground Water > Designated Basins (CGWC) > Designated Basins and Ground Water Management Districts

Currently, the Ground Water Commission has established eight designated basins and 13 Ground Water Management Districts (GWMDs) within such basins. A diagram is shown to the right and a listing of these basins and districts are shown below.  Also included are contact information for each GWMD.

The GWMDs are authorized to adopt additional rules and regulations to help administer ground water within their district. To view these individual GWMD Rules and Regulations, click on the PDF file below.

Designated Basins Ground Water Management District Rules and Contact Information 

Designated Basins Map for Download